Tiger West

So this is who Robert “Tiger” West is.

For many moons I had wondered. Ever since I was a kid I would see the credit on Hanna-Barbera cartoons Xerography: Robert “Tiger” West. I don’t know if the weird word ‘xerography’ caught my eye or if it was the “Tiger” in quotes, but either way I have always remembered the name and wondered what xerography was.

I still don’t know, but it apparently has something to do with Xerox machines or copying or something. Which isn’t surprising given that the H-B cartoons of the 70s seemed to all be carbon copies of each other: a wacky non-human hero with three teenage sidekicks (see Funky Phantom, Speed Buggy, Captain Caveman, Jabberjaw, Galloping Ghost, etc.). Having a Xerox machine probably speeded up production of those shows quite a bit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tiger West

  1. Don Ellison says:

    I knew “Tiger” very well. I worked at Xerox assisted with the Xerographic equipment at Hanna Barbera. Later on at another company, I developed special products for the Xerographic process at HB. If you have questions, please contact me.
    Don Ellison

Leave a Reply

