Closer to being historical

So the proposed Junius Height Historical District (or is it Historic District, I've never been clear on that) was passed by the Landmark Commission back on Thursday the 23rd.  My sources tell me that there were 46 people in favor at the hearing and 5 or 6 opposed.  It's not clear whether there were 46 people who spoke in favor, or if they took some sort of show of hands or what.  At any rate, now it will be about a month before the city council votes on the change and that will make it official.  Word on the street is that the Landmark Commission was the big hurdle to get over.  The city council normally just goes along with whatever they recommend.

I considered going to the hearing and now I'm glad I didn't.  It was scheduled to start at 1:30 p.m. and I figured I'd go for an hour and see the process in action and then be home by 2:30 or 3:00.  Then I found out that Junius Heights wasn't on the agenda until at least 3:00 so I decided not to go.  Turns out they didn't get to JH until 8:30 at night and my source wasn't home until 10:30 after spending basically an entire day there. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

