Thinkpad 8611 error

Continuing my blast from the past series, I re-present here the most popular entry from my old blog: what happened when I got an 8611 error on my old IBM thinkpad. Enough people used to be searching for it that I thought I’d put it back up as a public service.

My work Thinkpad almost died this morning, and I don’t expect it to last more than a week.

I was actually following our official procedures for my current change, and was getting some unexpected enjoyment out of researching all the changes I needed to make before I made them. I was even documenting everything in the official design document. The deadline’s getting tight so I got up at 0400 to resume work on the design.

That’s when the trouble hit. Word crashed and everything on the laptop locked up. I had to hit the power switch, nothing else worked. At least the power switch worked. When I rebooted all I got was an error message that said “8611” and a cryptic picture that seemed to be telling me to RTFM. This also happened to me a couple of days ago, but a reboot got past the message. This time half a dozen reboots all had the same result. I could have been been really hosed, losing all the updates I had made to my design since I emailed the partially finished design out yesterday morning.

Luckily after I let the Thinkpad ‘cool off’ for about 15 minutes it rebooted OK. Still, I have a sneaking suspicion it doesn’t have long for this world. Time to start using network drives for everything and seeing if I can talk my way into getting a replacement before my lease is up in about 6 months.

The 4 a.m. start seems to be pretty much wasted since I’ll have to spend the next couple of hours running a Scandisk to see if I can extend the life of the hard drive a few more weeks or months.

The update I should have added to the original entry from 3 years ago: It turned out the 8611 error was caused by a bad keyboard. Our service guy came out and replaced the keyboard and everything was hunky-dory again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thinkpad 8611 error

  1. arun kumar says:

    even the laptop is switched and after two days same problem please help me in this case
    while switcing on it says test or restart
    any solution?
    reply me fast

  2. radial says:

    In the end I wound up having to get the keyboard replaced.

  3. Maqbool says:

    Hi folks,
    I figured out this problem . This could also be a problem with your start up item

  4. yadayada says:

    Hey, if you got a keyboard or mouse to plug in, you can easily bypass the message. When it tells you to ‘Test’ or ‘Restart’ hit the escape key, (which will resart) next you’ll get the 8611 err again in big this time along with a few pics. When it’s done, hit the F1 key. Enjoy!

  5. Paladino Joey says:

    Thank you yadayada! That solution worked perfectly! Awesome!😀 finally back in buisness.

Leave a Reply

