Epiphany lesson

I noticed that the book we use for CCD had a special lesson on Epiphany, so I thought if I combined that with a run through the traditional blessing for homes on Epiphany that would take up the hour and the kids would take home the blessing and a piece of chalk and remember the lesson maybe.

There are a zillion various blessings out there — the one we did was to have the leader say “Lord bless this classroom” and then the kids said “and all who dwell therein” and then I read the Epiphany story from the beginning of Matthew 2. Then the kids combined to write “20 + C + M + B + 08” above the door of the classroom. After I had everything written up and prepared I found this other blessing at Vultus Christi: Epiphany Blessing of Chalk and Homes. I like that one better so I think we’ll do that on our own house a little later.

In the meantime, only three kids (of the 9 on the rolls) showed up for CCD today. The whole Epiphany lesson and blessing only took 30 minutes so that left me with 25 minutes to vamp. I added a discussion of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton and another discussion of the 12 days of Christmas and that filled up the rest of the time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

