First week of CCD 2008

I managed to survive the first week of CCD.  This year I’m teaching 2nd grade, so the class is a lot bigger than last year’s (17 vs. eight) and will likely add a few more students over the next couple of weeks.

For the first week I just planned to take roll and hand out the books (we’re using the Christ Our Life series) and do some introductions.  I figured with a big class that would take up the whole time slot and then we’d start the lessons next week.  Unfortunately that didn’t take nearly as long as I thought it would so I was left with a bunch of time to fill.  Part of it was taken up with a short opening assembly and for the rest I made up a game of trying to memorize the Our Father.

We’ll see how the lessons go next week.  I’m going to try to stick pretty close to the book with a few additions from the St. Joseph Baltimore Catechism when the topic in the book matches up well with one of the lessons in the old catechism.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

